Tony Yun

First Prize

Born in 2001, Tony Siqi Yun made his orchestral debut in 2014 with the China Philharmonic Orchestra in Beijing. One year later he toured with the same orchestra in Shanghai. Also in 2015, Mr. Yun debuted at the Salle Cortot, and in 2017, he toured Ireland, Spain, China, and the United States. The following year, he performed the Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto in B-flat minor with the Cleveland Orchestra in the prestigious Severance Hall. He collaborated with the China Philharmonic Orchestra in its 2018–2019 season and took part in the filming of the 2019 CCTV New Year's Concert. He was featured on a WQXR radio broadcast and in China Daily News and China Culture. He performed at the Heidelberger Frühling Music Festival in 2019.

Mr. Yun is currently enrolled in Juilliard's Pre-College Division, where he studies composition and conducting in addition to piano.

Age: 18
Country: Canada
Professional Training:
    2016 - present     The Juilliard School Pre-College Division
    2011 - 2016         Middle School Affiliated to the Central Conservatory of Music
    2016 - present     Matti Raekallio
    2011 - 2016          Jin Zhang
Competitions and Awards:
    2018     Thomas and Evon Cooper International Competition, First Prize, Audience Prize
    2017     Rosalyn Tureck International Bach Competition, Grand Prize, Rosalyn Tureck Prize, Contemporary Music Award
    2014     CCTV National Competition Professional Category, Gold Medal

Text Piece

PRELIMINARY RECITAL                                                       
Busoni                  Elegien, BV 249: All'Italia! In modo Napolitano
Beethoven            Sonata No. 21 in C major, Op. 53, "Waldstein"
Bellini-Liszt           Réminiscences de Norma, S. 394
SEMIFINAL ROUND                                                             
Bach-Busoni               Chaconne in D minor from Partita No. 2, BWV 1004              
Schumann                  Symphonic Etudes, Op. 13
Messiaen                   Vingt regards sur l'Enfant-Jésus: Première communion de la Vierge
Stravinsky-Agosti       The Firebird Suite

FINAL ROUND                                                                    
Phase I
Mozart                      Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K. 466
Phase II
Tchaikovsky                Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat minor, Op. 23